Dick Whittington (Pantomime) – January 2017

Dick Whittington by By Kei Bailey

Heckington Players 2017 pantomime was Dick Whittington written by Kei Bailey.

This year we will bring you the tale of Dick Whittington and his loyal cat Tommy. So join us for a magical and fun evening with a whole host of characters including Dame Sarah Stewpot, Idle Jack, the Fairies Glitz and Glamour as they help Dick to defeat the wicked Queen Rat and her hapless henchman Fester & Squirm.

Cast List 

Dick Whittington, a clever and charming young man seeking his fortune – Kim Sands

Tommy, his faithful cat – Kelly Anderson
Sarah Stewpot, a loud and amboyant cook and housekeeper – Tom Lee

Idle Jack, Sarah’s cheerful and cheeky nephew – Mel Priestley

Alice Fitzwarren, a kind hearted and plucky young women – Rachel Rowett
Alderman Fitzwarren, Alice’s fussy and bumbling father – Godfrey Barlow
Fiona Funnypenny, the Alderman’s highly e cient nancial secretary – Niki Thompson

Queen Rat, a power-hungry villainous rodent, ruler of the all the rats – Jackie Taylor

Fester, Queen Rat’s enthusiastic yet incompetent hench-rat – Kei Bailey
Squirm, Fester’s dim-witted assistant – Kate Sydney

Fairy Glitz, a sensational and dazzling magical being – Chelsey Barlow

Fairy Glamour, her equally fabulous companion – Lou Ross

Horatio Plunger, the clueless Captain of the Queen Camilla – Matthew Coupland 

Emperor of Napoodle, a whimsical eccentric – Nathan Hughes

Junior Chorus 

Team Rats

Holly Walker, Regan Skinner, Grace Doughty, Ashly Tyler, Laurel Mountin, Loren Mettam-Spencer, Amelia Barlow, Emily Doughty, Emily Collins, Sian Webb and Becky Bell-McTiernan.

Team Cats

Alice Constantine, Molly Graveling, Isabel Cottrell, Ruby Griths, Frank Griths, Evie Lonsdale, Yasemin Kussan, Natasha Priestley, Libby Dowding, Abi Dowding, Lauren Grien and Ruby Borchardt.


Writer – Kei Bailey
Director – Jo Warrick
Choreographer – Debbie Savage
Producer – Stuart Wyle
Sound – Mark Elsom
Lighting – Malcolm Billings
Stage Manager – Callum Thursby
Deputy Stage Manager – Andrew Edgar
Stage Crew – Matilda Wyatt and Amy Ash
Set design and construction – Mac Mclean and Malcolm Spring
Scenic designer – Mary Newman
Scenic painting – Mary Newman, Jo Warrick, Shelia Grossmith and Claire Brown
Costumes – Stuart Wyle, Ann Grimshaw, Maryjane Watson and Carole Tubb Props Mistress – Jo Cheyne
Props Assistant – Matilda Wyatt
Make-up – Katie Calo and Jessica Gibson
Dame’s Dresser – Jo Cheyne
Youth Theatre Leaders – Kei Bailey and Helen Gordon
Chaperones – Helen Gordon and Paula Barlow
Junior Costumes – Helen Gordon, Paula Barlow, Carole Tubb, Lynsay Mountain and Lynn Griffen
Programme design – Callum Thursby

Box Office Managers – Chelsey and Godfrey Barlow
Front of House Team – Tina Silkstone, Andrew Key, Matthew Brown, Simon Needham, Margaret Pye, Jo Marriott and Paul Sharman
Bar Manager – John Drury
Raffle – Ann Drury, Ann Grimshaw and Julia Sharman
Matinee refreshments – Sheila Grossmith and her team

Some photos from the show…

[gallery_bank type=”individual” format=”slideshow” title=”true” desc=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”random” album_title=”true” album_id=”6″]


Comments are closed.