Don’t Get Your Vicars In A Twist – May 2018

Don’t get Your Vicars In A Twist by Ann Gawthorpe and Lesley Bown

Don't get your Vicars in a Twist - Poster

Heckington Players 2018 spring production is Don’t Get Your Vicars In A Twist written by Ann Gawthorpe and Lesley Bown.

‘An amateur production by arrangement with Stagescripts Ltd’

‘Don’t Get Your Vicars in a Twist’ by Ann Gawthrope and Lesley Bown is set in the early 1990s when the first female vicars were ordained. The play is a fast-moving farce full of fun, frolics and lots of doors!

Desperate to find the funds to pay for his daughter’s wedding, Church Warden George Willams seizes the opportunity to rent out the vicarage while waiting for a new vicar to be appointed. The booking is to a touring Theatre Company, who are to stage a Murder Mystery weekend in which a female Vicar and a Bishop are among the cast. Unfortunately for George, a new female vicar is appointed to the vicarage before the Murder Mystery weekend can take place. George thinks he’s still in luck when the new Vicar, Caroline Timberlake, announces that she is to visit friends at a college reunion over the weekend. However, events take a turn for the worse when Bishop Herbert rings the vicarage to announce that he is to visit to meet his new vicar.

Chaos ensues as the actor playing the Bishop in the Murder Mystery weekend is mistaken by George and fellow Church Warden Alan, for the real Bishop Herbert, and the Bishop himself mistakes the actor playing the Vicar for Caroline. Matters get worse as half of the Theatre company fails to make an appearance and the remainder spend most of their time either fighting with each other or getting drunk, or both. This is even before we meet the guests!


Cast List 
George -Tom Lee
Caroline – Amy Ash
Dickie – David O’Brien
Alan – Aaron Pettican
Ronald – Kei Bailey
Marigold – Jo Warrick
Maddie – Rachel Rowett
Charles – Godfrey Barlow
Freda – Colette Buchanan-Gray
Angela – Jo Cheyne
Herbert – Craig Pakes


Crew List 

Written By – Ann Gawthorpe and Lesley Bown
Directors – Amy Ash and Melanie Priestley
Producer – Mark Elsom
Lighting – Malcolm Billings
Sound – Mark Elsom
Stage Manager – Stuart Wyle
Stage Crew – Callum Thomas
Set Construction – Len Bridge, Mac Mclean, David Nickols and Malcolm Spring
Costumes – Kei Bailey & Katie Calo
Make-up – Katie Calo
Poster & Programme Design – Callum Thursby
Box Office Managers – Chelsey and Godfrey Barlow
Front of House Manager – Joanna Cheyne
Plant Handler – Jo Warrick

Some photos from the show…

[gallery_bank type=”individual” format=”slideshow” title=”true” desc=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”sort_order” album_title=”true” album_id=”22″]


Comments are closed.